## EXTRACTS FROM THE CANADA GAZETTE, 1916 AND 1917

Brunswick. Nov. 29. McCallum Grant, of Halifax, N.S., to be Lieutenant-Governor of the province of Nova Scotia. 1917: Nov. 6. The Hon. William Pugsley, of St. John, N.B., to be Lieutenant-Governor of the province of New Brunswick, in the room and stead of the Hon. Gilbert W Ganong, deceased.

New Senators.--The following were appointed members of the Senate in 1917: Jan. 22. Frederic Nicholls, of Toronto, Ont.: Henry W Richardson, of Kingston, Ont.; Gideon D. Robertson, of Welland, Ont.; George Lynch Staunton, of Hamilton, Ont., Adam B. Crosby, of Halifax. N.S.; Charles E. Tanner, of Pictou, N.S.; Thomas Jean Bourque, of Richibucto, N.B. Jan. 31. Henry Willoughby Laird, of Regina, Sask. June 26. Lytton Wilmot Shatford, of Vancouver, B.C.; Albert E. Planta, of Nanaimo, B.C. June 29. George W Fowler, of Sussex, N.B. July 26. John Henry Fisher, of Paris, Ont.; Richard Blain, of Brampton. Ont.; Lendrum McMeans, of Winnipeg, Man.; David Ovide Lesperance. of Quebec, Que. July 27 George Green Foster, of Montreal, Que. July 30. Richard Smeaton White, of Montreal, Que. Aug. 1. Roderic Harold Clive Pringle, of Cobourg, Ont.; Angus Claude Macdonald, of Toronto, Ont. Sept. 3. Aimé Bénard, of Bénard, Man. Oct. 23. George H. Barnard, K.C., of Victoria, B.C.; Wellington B. Willoughby, of Moosejaw, Sask., Lieut.-Col. James Davis Taylor, of New Westminster, B.C.; Frederick L. Schaffner, M.D., C.M., of Boissevain, Man.

Cabinet Ministers and other Members of the Government.—1916: July 19. Franklin Blanchard McCurdy, of Halifax, M.P., to be Parliamentary Secretary of the Department of Militia and Defence. Oct. 21. Lt.-Col. Hugh Clarke, of Kincardine, Ont., M.P. for North Bruce, to be Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs during the continuance of the present war. Oct. 31. The Hon. Sir George Halsey Perley, Acting High Commissioner, to be Minister of Overseas Military Forces for Canada in the United Kingdom. Nov. 23. The Hon. Albert Edward Kemp, to be Minister of Militia and Defence in the room and stead of the Hon. Sir Sam Hughes, K.C.B.,

resigned.

1917: Jan. 8. The Hon. Pierre Edouard Blondin, of Grand'Mère, Que., to be Postmaster-General; the Hon. Esioff Léon Patenaude, of Montreal, to be Secretary of State and Minister of Mines; the Hon. Albert Sévigny, of Quebec, to be Minister of Inland Revenue. Aug. 25. Hon. Arthur Meighen, of Ottawa, to be Secretary of State and Minister of Mines. Oct. 3. The Hon. Charles C. Ballantyne, to be Minister of Public Works in the room and stead of the Hon. Robert Rogers, resigned. Oct. 4. Hugh Guthrie, of Guelph, Ont., to be Solicitor General of Oct. 12. Major-General the Hon. Sydney C. Mewburn, to be Minister of Militia and Defence; the Hon. Arthur L. Sifton, to be Minister of Customs; the Hon. Sir George Halsey Perley, K.C.M.G., to be High Commissioner for Canada; the Hon. Sir Albert Edward Kemp, K.C.M.G., to be Minister of Overseas Military Forces of Canada; the Hon. Martin Burrell, to be Secretary of State and Minister of Mines; the Hon. John D. Reid, to be Minister of Railways and Canals; the Hon. Arthur Meighen, to be Minister of Interior; the Hon. Thomas